My Crazy Little Life

ramblings of a crazy woman living her sometimes crazy life with her little family, in their little home, in a little town, in the BIG state of Texas

It’s the most wonderful time of the year!

Posted by mycrazylittlelife on 12/18/2008

After 2 weeks (not a solid 2 weeks, it was just spread out!) of a nasty stomach virus, we are back in full swing! We have been running like crazy and enjoying every minute of it. The first weekend of December was our town’s Christmas party. Yes, most of the town. It included most of the shops on the square. There was shopping, food, hot cocoa, LOTS of performances (which our daughter was a part of) and Santa, of course! It’s such a fun time! I’m so glad we were able to attend, even if it were only for a little while. (We were still recovering from the Barforama.)

Last weekend (Saturday and Sunday) was our major production at church. It was beautiful! I would post pics, but I didn’t quite have enough time to adjust my camera settings before the lighting would change! (Note to self: review camera manual/settings!) Of course, there was a ‘reception’ afterwards for the choir. It was, of course, a lot of work – but it was GREAT! I’m so glad we were able to attend.

 On Saturday morning we attended our town’s Christmas parade. Since we live in relatively small town, we knew quite a few people in the parade, which is always fun for kids. I didn’t even think to take my camera to this one. After the parade, the man and I went shopping. It was so nice to enjoy some time out with him.

This week we have been baking for neighbors and friends, helping prepare for upcoming events at church and partying! We are so blessed to have such awesome friends and church family. I am so thankful to have them in my life!

Saturday we will celebrate with my husband’s family. It will be a fun time with grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins! Usually we celebrate on Christmas Day, so this will be our first year to be home ALL day on Christmas. While we all love visiting family near Christmas, we are looking forward to not leaving the house! 

Next week is looking busy as well.  Sunday is another church activity for the kids. It’s such a sweet time with them. I think it’s my most favorite of all! I spent some time today preparing little gifts for this event. Every year they are presented with something to take home as a reminder of this special time. Dude, I love my church!  Let’s see…we will also begin preparing for my dad to visit, probably do a bit more baking, and preparing for our Christmas meal. I’m hoping to also work in one more craft! We’ll see. I may run out of time! 

Through all the hustle and bustle of the season, we’ve taken lots of ‘time outs’ to reflect on the Reason of it all. After all, had God not sent His Son, there would be no Christmas. There would be no salvation, no hope. What a world that would be! Take time this season to focus on Jesus!

Leave a Reply

«
»
 
