My Crazy Little Life

ramblings of a crazy woman living her sometimes crazy life with her little family, in their little home, in a little town, in the BIG state of Texas

Skool

Posted by mycrazylittlelife on 11/05/2008

A few weeks ago I received an email about homeschooling. Basically asking why we choose to home school and how we do it. Since then I’ve started writing this post no less than 4 times. However, I’ve deleted every.single.one. It’s a complex issue for me. I have a love/hate relationship with homeschooling really. The time homeschooling allows me to spend with my children is priceless. It is for a season that our children are at home and I want to cherish every minute with them. Do I actually cherish every minute? Not always. None of us are perfect. We have really ugly moments where I want to load them up and enroll them in the local public school…..and they want to go! However, we always get past it. Overall, my kids love it and neither really wants to attend a ‘regular’ school.

My husband and I have chosen to homeschool for moral and religious reasons. That said, we are not a radical family. My children are somewhat normal, active members of society.  You probably would not be able to pick my kids out of a crowd as home schoolers unless you talked with them. They blend well and ‘socialization’ is not a problem. Btw, that ‘socialization’ issue is old. Please look up the definition of the word. Thankyouverymuch.

Instead of discussing more our why’s, I’ll just tell you what a normal day looks like in our home school.

7-730 kids do chores (personal responsibilities, we call them) / mom makes breakfast

730-8 kids eat / mom reads devotion

8-9 dd corrects any work that needs it, Bible / ds math / mom eats, cleans kitchen, starts laundry

9-10 dd math / ds history / mom helps dd with math

10-1030 kids break & snack / mom exercises

1030-1100 dd finishes math / ds completes any unfishned work (or reads) / mom exercises or does laundry

11-12 dd history / ds spelling or penmanship / mom with ds

12-1 lunch & read aloud or free reading time for kids / mom eats, cleans, reads/blogs

1-2 dd language arts / ds reading / mom with dd

2-3 dd science / ds language arts / mom assorted chores

3-4 dd Spanish / ds Scout book & projects / mom assorted chores

4-5 kids personal responsibilities / mom dinner prep

5-6 kids free time / mom dinner or chores

6-7 dinner as a family

7-8 kids free time / mom clean up

8-9 kids free or reading time in bedrooms

9-7 lights out!

This is our guidline. It’s rare that we follow it exactly, real life just doesn’t work that way! However, I must say that having the schedule has helped us all tremendously!  We are more focused and have much more free time.

In addition to the basics, we are also involved in a local homeschooling co-op. Some of the classes they’ve taken over the years include drama, band, guitar, Musikgarten, Cub Scouts, home economics, science labs, Spanish, and soccer. My daughter volunteers at church occasionally and is active in choir and youth. My son is a homebody and prefers not to be involved in as many activities. We certainly don’t mind that! 

While I support and encourage homeschooling, I also realize it is not for every family. If you have more questions, I will be happy to reply to your emails!

Leave a Reply

 
